Eleven suspected oil thieves and their vessel were on Monday June 16, 2014 handed over to the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission, EFCC, for further investigation by theNigerian Navy.

The suspects and a merchant tanker (MT PETROITTI), formerly known as MB VILVOORDER were handed over to the EFCC by Lieutenant Commander O. C Odaja, who represented the Commander of the Delta Naval Base, Warri.

He said the suspects were arrested aboard the vessel sometime in May, 2014, with substances suspected to be crude oil.

The suspected oil thieves include: Ephraim Akpan (the captain), Agadagba Ochuko, Clement Tommy, Oyayefa Abonne and Bousou Kereotu. Others are: Dereye Harry, Lucky Abonne, Dapo Obadare, Friday Ibude, Ebi Ekokeme and Vincent Elayegha.

Deputy Detective Superintendent Victor Ngwoke who received the suspects and the vessels on behalf of the EFCC assured a diligent investigation and possible prosecution of the suspects.

Media & Publicity
18th June, 2014